advisorkrot.blogg.se

Japan dreamcast bios flash
Japan dreamcast bios flash












japan dreamcast bios flash
  1. Japan dreamcast bios flash mod#
  2. Japan dreamcast bios flash code#

Really? Is there no difference between the BIOS on a Mil-CD and non Mil-CD compatable Dreamcast?

Japan dreamcast bios flash code#

So there is no different programming code on the IC chips themselves? Early and basic chips were nothing more than the IC itself. Thanks very much for your reply and adviceġ: I do believe the "revision" has nothing to do with the internals, just a nicer little PCB etc. That is, if those pertain to those things (I'd assume based on your comment, and the fact only certain points are bridged.they do) You can wire up a nice little dip switch board and change regions as well as refresh rates with certain combinations. Factory adjusted to optimal pickup I assume, rather than any 1 value.Ħ: No idea, never bothered with that, however if it's anything like the Saturn.

japan dreamcast bios flash

Can't help further, sorry.Ĥ: No can answer, but why would you want to if you chip/flash flashrom to serve this purpose?ĥ: This is honestly subjective, I've repaired dozens of Dreamcasts and just like the Gamecube, the ohm value varies considerably, especially between different laser versions (More than 2? I dunno) and all worked well at differing values, even new assemblies. If you can flash the flashrom with suitable data, such as a devkit flashrom, you wouldn't need a chip. Theres all sorts of settings and crap stored in there, even games store their ID and region details in there, go figure). The bios and flashrom are different chips (Modchip installation diagrams point you to the flashrom, NOT the bios. I believe the modchip serves the purpose replacing the flashrom no? The bios is hardcoded and NOT reprogramable. Regional differences are contained within the flashrom. There isn't much to this thing.Ģ: The only insight I can offer here, as I've never touched a PAL Dreamcast, is that the Bios is IDENTICAL between all region Dreamcast. Sorry for such a long post and thanks in advance for any help or advice you can give meġ: I do believe the "revision" has nothing to do with the internals, just a nicer little PCB etc. That bridging R424 forces an NTSC output - but that may be wrong, as I have not read it anywhere else. I have read allsorts of guides for adjusting Gamecube and Xbox lasers correctly, but none for Dreamcast - they all seems to suggest you just keep turning the POT in 1/8th turns until it works, which isnt very accurate/scientific to say the least!Ħ) Has anyone tested what (if anything) the other 'R' points do/change? (eg R423, R425 etc) My 'guess' is that it just changes the output of an NTSC machine to PAL, but does NOT alter the refresh rate of the console - so it would still play in 60hz (unless the game is PAL 50hz only) This makes it more compatable with some PAL games, however I could be totally wrong.Ĥ) Can you still solder the R512 points and use a region changer disk with a modchipped Dreamcast console?ĥ) What is the recommended range in ohms for the Dreamcast Lasers Potentiometer (POT)? I have read allsorts of conflicting information from "it converts NTSC to PAL" to "it just changes NTSC to PAL60" and "it switches between 50hz and 60hz"

Japan dreamcast bios flash mod#

'Back in the day' I remember it being said that its always best to modchip an NTSC Dreamcast console, as modchipped PAL consoles had trouble displaying NTSC games at 60hz, but I guess if they are exactly the same hardware wise, and just had a different flash, this point would now be redundant?ģ) Does anyone know what exactly the 'R422' mod does/changes? :. Surely a PAL Dreamcast console flashed to NTSC would be exactly the same as an NTSC console in every respect? Unless the actual Bios or Motherboard is different aswell? (I know the Bios was definitely different on later NTSC models to disable the use of CD-R's in the Mil CD format)

japan dreamcast bios flash

I only ask as now that there is a 'region changer' disk which flashes the Dreamcasts flash memory:. Is there anyway to know? Or is there any other sites people know of?Ģ) Is there any actual hardware differences between a NTSC and PAL console apart from the PSU? I have been told that this site still sells them:-īut I dont know if that is the latest/last revision of the modchip. I have put my main questions in bold as this post ended up being alot longer than I had initially planned!ġ) I just wondered who still sells the latest/last revision of the 4 wire Dreamcast Modchip? I am hoping to mod my Dreamcast to be universal - Playing any region game and displaying it all at 60hz, but I need some help/advice first.

japan dreamcast bios flash

I have posted this elsewhere but am hoping that I get more reponses here as this site seems to be a fountain of knowledge! Hi everyone, Im new here so please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong section.














Japan dreamcast bios flash